Read the book before watching the movie

Do you watch the movie first, or read the book?  Until The Fault in Our Stars, I was definitely a ‘just watch the movie’ type of reader for many books.  However, I have seen the error of my ways and just how much I’m missing by not always reading the books.  There are a number of books that I have read recently, which I can envisage as blockbuster movies, and simply can’t wait to see them on the big screen.  But now I have to wait for that to happen.  Books that are going to be movies in the next year or so are:

This movie, The Longest Ride, has already been released and will be out on DVD in a few months.  A great romantic drama penned and produced by Nicholas Sparks. It is not like some of Nicholas Sparks’ movies, where you are torn apart by the separation of two ‘meant-to-be-together’ souls, but is deeply touching.  (The lead actor is not bad to look at either)

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is a book by Jesse Andrews that tells the story of two boys who are encouraged to befriend a girl who is terminally ill. It is said to be somewhat of a comedy and I can envisage some rather funny scenes from just reading the blurb.

If its anything like The Fault in Our Stars, Paper Towns by John Green is going to get teens very excited when it comes out as a movie later this year.  Adventure, romance and mystery are all in it and sure to impress viewers.  However, read the book first, John Green is a ‘can’t-put-it-down’ page-turner author who should not be overlooked in favour of the movie.

The Scorch Trials is the second book in the Maze Runner series.  I will admit, I have not read these books and have heard the first one was a little slow but the second gets more and more intriguing.  They have only just gotten out of the maze so it is sure to get interesting now as this dystopian world and adventure unravels further.

Read it again, the final book in the Hunger Games series, Mockingjay.  Mockingjay: Part 2 is set for release later this year and will not fail to impress I’m sure, however, its been a while probably since you read the book so maybe give it another read to really enjoy the final chapter in this cinematic saga.

I am a true Pride and Prejudice fan and cannot bring myself to read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, however, I know that there are many fans of this genre and book, so you will be excited to hear that it will be released as a movie next year.  So, if you are interested in zombies and Austen this is sure to hit the spot.

So whether you are avid reader or not, perhaps try reading the book for a movie you love and getting yet another experience of the wonderful characters and story lines that you enjoyed cinematically.

Leave a comment